I have failed you.
I’ve been attempting to have a new post every 2 or 3 days, because I know that this blog is new, and it will be awfully hard to earn new readers and maintain the few we have without a relatively consistent stream of content. Also, who wants to wait 2 or 3 days for something? That’s unheard of in this day and age.

Speaking of this day and this age, what age are we in now? The 80’s, 90’s and 2000’s have sort of blurred together from a cultural standpoint. I know that there are significant differences in almost any area you care to point to, but there seems to be less of a division than when you look at the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s.

Maybe there’s just certain time periods where there are a series of smaller shifts before a large jump changes how we look at things. Nothing has really been the same since the 80’s introduced home electronics and home computers, has it? Since then everything has moved at such an accelerated rate, and a lot of things have kind of squeezed themselves together in a way that they very nearly exist as one continuous event as opposed to a series of changes.

What do we get to identify with? Are we the “Digital Age”? Maybe the “Age of Social Media”? I sincerely hope we’re not permanently linked to the rise of social media. I honestly believe that while it’s useful, social media will ultimately cause more problems than it ever solved. It’s already begun, what with Twitter being used in lieu of an actual media outlet to announce things, and Facebook being more important as an advertising tool than a way to connect to people you’ve lost touch with.

You can blame the corruption of useful tools into advertising channels on the desire for everyone to have more money all the time. It’s a shame that Facebook started as a way for college students to connect about homework assignments and class projects, and has ended up being an ugly quagmire of social tools that serves mainly to cater to youth with a limited attention span.

I don’t want to sound like some sort of crazy anti-social media hermit here. I use Facebook to get in touch with old friends that I don’t have any other way of contacting. I use Twitter to make a more direct connection to celebrities and sports figures and keep up sports news. I just feel like it has all gotten a little out of hand.

With the change in direction most social media has taken, it concerns me that it might all be a runaway train headed for a brick wall of no privacy, and essentially a digital version of telemarketers calling every night at dinner. The trouble is, the information they have won’t just be an email or a cell phone number, they’ll know where you live because you’ve turned on the “My Location” feature, Or they’ll know what your entire schedule is everyday because you “Check In” every time you go somewhere. It’s all just a little scary.

I guess, at the end of the day, I’m just worried that we’ll be the group of people that caused the collapse of society and we’ll have to move to an underwater city that attempts to be utopia and ends up being more like 1984.(The book not the year)

That’s the long version of why I should probably write more often.

-Chris

